The Kerry Heritage Award was first initiated by the Society in 1986, to honour individuals/organisations who had made a major contribution in the areas of research/development/promotion of the County’s culture and heritage.

Dr Patricia O’Hare, Research and Education Officer, Trustees of Muckross House, Killarney, was the recipient of the Kerry Heritage Award, 2019. The presentation was made to honour Patricia, for her outstanding commitment and dedication to Kerry’s rich and varied culture and heritage as exemplified by her role in the development of Muckross Research Library and for her research into Kerry’s folk life and social history.

The Award has been presented to date to the following individuals:

Year Recipient
2018 Helen O’Carroll
2017 Founders of the Kerry Archaeological and Historical Society

Tom Armitage, Kathleen Browne (neé Turner) and Margaret Stack

2016 Fr Anthony Gaughan
2015 Marie O’Sullivan
2014 Seán Seosamh Ó Chonchubhair
2013 Jack McKenna
2012 Connie Murphy
2011 Valerie Mck.Bary
2010 Isabel Bennett
2009 An tAthair Tomás Ó Luanaigh
2008 Dr Margaret MacCurtain, O.P
2007 An tAth Gearóid Ó Donnchadha
2006 Dr Declan Downey
2005 Gerard Lyne
2004 Tadhg Ó Coileáin
2003 John Sheehan
2002 Dr Noel Kissane
2001 Mon Pádraig Ó Fiannachta
2000 Tomás Breatnach
1999 Frank King
1998 Tom Finn
1997 Sr Anslem Nic Ghearailt
1996 Paddy D’Arcy
1995 Gerry O’Leary
1994 Donncha Ó Conchúir
1993 Seán Ó Dubhda
1992 Rev Kieran O’Shea
1991 Kit Ahern
1990 Kathleen Browne
1989 Walter McGrath
1988 Dominican Abbey Memorial Committee
1987 Canon Jack McKenna
1986 Judith Cuppage